Staff

Christine Storms - President- Christine is our new President and comes to us with over 11 years of experience in higher education and a former business owner in the construction industry. Email: cstorms@ftium.edu

Tom Aasheim  - Director of Training and Dean of Trades. He also serves as the Coordinator and Instructor for the Commercial  & Industrial Painting and Drywall Finishing.  He moved to his full-time postion in 2011 after teaching as a part-time instructor for 2 years. Tom has over 20 years experience in Commerical & Industrail Painting.  He also has numerous certifications and is the instructor for RRP and Lead Worker training. Email:  taasheim@ftium.edu

Brian Hagberg is the Coordinator for Glazing and Glassworkers.  Brian is a Journeyworker Glazier, who worked with Brin Northwestern Glass for 20-years.  Brian started with FTI-UM in September 2008 as the Glazing and Glassworking Coordinator/Instructor.  Brian is OSHA 500, OSHA 501Rigging & Signaling, Forklift, Boom Lifts and American Heart Instructor certified.  He is currently working on his American Welding Society Certification. E-mail: bhagberg@ftium.edu

Jerry Meissner is the Sign Display & Convention Worker Coordinator.  Jerry is also Senior Environmental Graphic Designer & Signmaker for the University of Minnesota.  He has been involved the the sign industry since 1987. Email:  gmeissner@ftium.edu

Ed Kane is one of our painting instructors with over 30 years of experience in the field. Email:ekane@ftium.edu

Amy Peterson is the Drywall Finisher Coordinator at FTI-UM, and has substantial experience in the trade.  Email: apeterson@ftium.edu

Tony Osborn is an Instructor for the Glazing and Glassworker program.  Tony is a Journeyworker Glazier, who has many years of hands-on experience in the Glazing field.   Email: tosborn@ftium.edu

Dave Sears is an Instructor for the Painters program. Dave has over 30 years of experience in the field and is certified in many areas.Email: dsears@ftium.edu

Davitt Dougherty is one of our commercial paint instructors who has held a variety of titles in the field with over 20 years experience. Email: ddougherty@ftium.edu

Jean Fusco is our Student Services Coordinator.  Jean comes to FTI with several years experience in higher education.  Jean handles all Associate Degree questions and apprentice training. Email: jfusco@ftium.edu

Kristin Dittbenner is our new Office Administrator of FTI-UM.  Kristin has several years of administrative, customer service and office experience.  Email:kdittbenner@ftium.edu

 

 

 

 

 

Finishing Trades Institute ~ Upper Midwest Board of Trustees

Management Labor
Gary Buchert
JB Nelson & Sons
Terry Nelson
District Council 82
James Bringle
Empirehouse
Craig Olson
District Council 82, Local 106
Matt Marquis
MN Drywall & Plaster Assn.
Mark Christianson
District Council 82, Local 386
Mike Horovitz
Minneapolis Glass
Scott Parker
District Council 82, Local 681
Rick Palmateer
Universal Signs, Inc.
Warren Harder
District Council 82, Local 1324
Pat Rome
Lakeview Guidance Inc.
Tom Mundhenk
District Council 82, Local 880